It’s Giving Basic

keeping up with the latest basic trends


Taylor Swifts – Midnights

By : Mia Denis

The queen, T-Swift, just released an album and I’m going to give my brutally honest opinion. The album is called Midnight and was released on October 21st. The album is based on 13 sleepless nights Taylor had.This album is rumored to be some of her darkest work yet. I’m going to be telling y’all about some of my favorite songs.

overall the album was really good and had a consistent theme throughout. the theme was confusion because she was just feeling her feeling even if they didn’t make sense. below is some highlights of my favorite songs. 

         The first track in this album is Lavender Haze. Lavender Haze is about being in love, but being in love in her own way. She feels pressured by society to be a stereotypical woman in relationships and she’s saying she just wants to be in a haze and not worry about it too much.

The next song is Maroon. The vibe Maroon gave me was like a toxic relationship.  ‘’The mark they saw on my collar bone, the rust that grew between telephones.’’ ‘’Missing him was dark gray alone.’’ It’s like loving someone but there is pain associated with the feelings.

The next song Anti-Hero skyrocketed to the tops of charts instantly. The song Anti-Hero is about how you are your own issue. ‘’It’s me, Hi i’m the problem it’s me’’ ‘’I’ll stare directly at the sun but never in the mirror.’’ I interpret this lyric as we can’t face ourselves because we know we are bringing this stuff onto ourselves so we take the option that makes us numb instead

The fourth song is the only song with a guest. It’s called Snow on the Beach featuring Lana Del Rey. Let me tell you this collaboration did not disappoint! Lana del Rey can be heard with background whimsical sounding vocals. The next song is one almost everyone can relate to. It’s called You’re on Your Own Kid (YOYOK). It’s about having a crush on someone for a while and then one day realizing they don’t like you back.  

The final song I’m going to talk about is Mastermind. It’s somewhat admitting to manipulation but in the best way possible. It talks about from the moment she sees ‘’the boy’’ she knows she has to form some type of way to trick him into being hers. ‘’What if i told you none of it was accidental and the first night I saw you I knew nothing was gonna stop me.’’ Like she’s done something to make him love her and now that it worked she can confess.



Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started